Tyrone Hospital Receives Patient Safety Award

Tyrone Hospital is the recipient of the Patient Safety Authority (PSA) Executive Director’s Choice Award in the annual I AM Patient Safety contest. The PSA’s annual contest recognizes Pennsylvania healthcare workers exhibiting outstanding dedication to patient safety.

Tyrone was selected for the award in recognition of the extraordinary work of the hospital’s Surgical Infection Reduction Team. The team, consisting of staff from the operating room, housekeeping, patient safety, infection prevention and maintenance departments, collaborated on a project to reduce surgical site infection in patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty surgery (hip replacement).  By addressing various opportunities for improvement, the infection rate for total hip arthroplasties decreased from 4.1% to 0%.

The news was announced earlier this year. Tyrone was to officially receive the award in a ceremony during the Patient Safety Authority’s annual spring Patient Safety Summit. The event was cancelled due to concerns with COVID-19. Therefore, the award was shipped directly to Tyrone.

Pictured with the award are representatives from departments that are part of Tyrone Hospital’s Surgical Infection Reduction team. Front row left to right: Matthew Hollen, maintenance department, Douglas Trexler, maintenance department who is holding the award, and Don Hollen maintenance supervisor. Center row left to right: Lesia Riggleman, housekeeping supervisor, Beth Carey, LPN, infection prevention coordinator and Kendra Daughenbaugh, RN, surgical services manager. Back row left to right: Thelma Gochnaur housekeeping, Rachel Allison RN, operating room,  Lavonne Ford, surgical technologist, Janelle Ramensnyder, surgical technologist, Stefanie Cavallo RN, operating room, Amanda Lear RN, operating room, Mindy Dick RN, operating room and Danielle Romano, surgical technologist.